Oh my, it has been a while since the last update, hasn’t it?
Results for February to June 2018
Since my last report, I managed to earn $45 in one month after getting my blog post featured on the r/hardware subreddit, which then made its way to Hacker News (a news aggregation site), bringing the most traffic to my site in many years; March 2018’s view count was the second highest on record, bested only by June 2014’s 25,051 views which were not monetized. I even received my first payout on May 29th.
However, the rest of the months have been less fruitful, especially as of late. Since May, my monthly ad revenue has dropped below $10 USD/month. I thought that the boost in traffic from March would result in more views after the fact – I could not have been more wrong.
Another month has passed and that means another round of ad revenue trickling in.
Results for January 2018
This is rather interesting – despite getting more views than December 2017, the pay rate was lower than before!
Curious to see what the dollar-per-impression rate was for each month, I tabulated the results and graphed them:
|| $ 5.03
|| $ 0.00108219
|| $ 15.18
|| $ 0.00087397
|| $ 11.96
|| $ 0.00066864
That is a pretty linear drop in dollar-per-impression rate. Perhaps this is due to ad market fluctuations, or maybe WordPress is “incentivizing” increased viewership to maintain ad revenue. Who knows? Either way, it will be interesting to track this trend as time goes on.
Over a month has passed since my first post about seeing where the WordAds train will take me and my blog, and the first (meaningful) payout numbers have rolled out.
WordAds earnings for 1/3 of November 2017, and all of December 2017.
Not too bad – in 1 1/3 months, I’ve earned $20.20 USD in ad revenue. In December alone I earned $15.18 from 17,369 attempted ad impressions; with 9,732 views in December this equates to an impression-to-view ratio of 1.785.
Assuming that I receive the same number of views per month, $15/month * 12 months = $180 USD/year. With this amount of revenue, my blog can finally run itself!
Blog Budget Breakdown (yay, alliteration!)
|Yearly Ad Revenue ($15 USD * 12 months)
|| $ 180.00
|Domain Name Registration (1 year for 3 domains, assuming CAD-to-USD conversion rate of 0.8x)
|| $ (76.80)
|G Suite (1 year, assuming CAD-to-USD conversion rate of 0.8x)
|| $ (48.00)
|Final Balance (USD)
|| $ 55.20
If I assume that my current view count doesn’t change, this would leave me with a little over $50 USD in pocket change by the end of the year. Perhaps this money could be put to use to buy some more things to make blog posts with – maybe some iPhone batteries or an eMMC module or two…
Once again, thanks to all of my readers – I couldn’t have done any of this without you! 😀